Board Members

Name Representation Address
Rick Stephens, Chairman City of Alpine 307 E Ave E, Alpine TX 79830
William "Mo" Morrow, Vice Chairman   Brewster County PO BOX 507 Alpine, TX 79831
Dr. Sharon Clark Terlingua CSD 2330 Lake Ament Alpine, TX 79830
Ester Howard BBR Hospital Dist    PO BOX 477 Alpine, TX 79830
Marry McCalister Alpine ISD PO BOX 283 Alpine, TX 79831
Kay Houston Marathon ISD PO BOX 396, Marathon TX  79842
  San Vicente ISD PO BOX 41 Sunny Glenn, Alpine TX 79830



The Appraisal District Board of Directors Role in the Property Tax System

The local property tax system follows the principle of checks and balances. An appraisal district board of directors hires the chief appraiser, sets the budget and appoints the appraisal review board members. The directors have no authority to set values or appraisal methods. The chief appraiser carries out the appraisal district's legal duties, hires the staff, makes the appraisals and operates the appraisal office.